Валерий Созановский – создатель проекта Sweet Factory

French macaroons

Photographer:Anatoliy Lisoviy
Lawyer by education – Valeriy Sozanovskiy - the founder of Sweet Factory project – first Ukrainian sweetshop to be created as nominal brand. For five months, desserts produced by this company became one of the most popular in Kyiv restaurant society.

I visited restaurants since childhood, but I got interested in that business only in late Institute. Parties, bars, restaurants, travelling to Europe and visiting different places – all that was the part of my life. I realized that I like it, I have my own taste. Why not implement it? In 2008 we started “Deluxe Delicious” catering service. I was curious about everything: from forks to menu creation. In 2011, we stared Quick Li – Chinese cuisine with delivery. Confectionery is a brand new hobby.

Study in France

I went doing my studies to the Ecole Nationale Superieure de Pattisserie (ENSP) with the idea to introduce to Kiev original macaroons – to start up the unique project. It is a vacant niche in Ukraine. In modern dessert stylistics – absolutely free. All we have is at least 20 years old — so called “classics”. There’s a lack of modern style and not everybody understand us but we are trying to teach. Choosing macaroons I, of course, make a start from my personal taste as well.

My studies lasted three months. We had classes from 6 am until 1 pm or from 1 pm until 8 pm. New week – new topic: chocolate, bread, ice cream, cakes – many things. Moreover, we had practice — to work in such restaurants as Ladur?e or Pierre Herm? for a month.

My friends advised me ENSP school. I was planning to go to Ferrandi, but it’s half a year at least. It’s a quite long period and I can’t leave my business just like that. Doing high-level studies, going into culinary deeply requires French. My level of French is low and that\s the only problem for now. However, I definitely would go there for studies again: to get the title as minimum, as maximum – for pleasure and new developments. On October 15, I am going to visit Pierre Hermet for two days course. He is the master; we all are heading to, the guru. We use his formulas.

Валерий Созановский - THE PEOPLE

Team

I selected my team long and tiresomely. From 100-150 visitors, only one hit the target. A main criterion is modern approach to life. Young people, ready to learn, progress in team, build business. The desire to study is very important. We all had change ourselves in some way and say: “Yes, I want to learn something new” instead of “No, I would do what I’ve done before and I don’t care.” Because all knowledge they had is unacceptable. We had to reeducate them. We differ in everything: from technologies to ingredients. We hired experienced and inexperienced but with professional education.

We didn’t hire those who came for a couple of days just to find our secrets or just wanted to enter the FILM.UA territory, where we situated. Even tattooed prisoners look alike have come saying: “Hey, I can solve anything. We’ll keep it in line. Pay me 20000, I will set you all stuff.” I immediately replied; “Dude, if you repeat three receipts – I’m ready to pay.” No one could repeat, even one, and cannot repeat it. All these a-la cool professionals with ten years chef experience, confectionary art, like “I’m gonna teach you” but that was so funny.

We do not hire people older than 35 years old, because we don’t want soviet traditions and try to build European company. Base and people to work with formation took 2-3 months. Now we have 7 employees at our kitchen. More, we have two employees in office and two suppliers.

Relations within the team are friendly and maximum loyal. Middle age of pastry chefs is 25-27 years. Mostly there are boys, they are stronger. We have some girls but it’s hard for them to work 10-12 hours seven days a week.

Partners

Today we sell desserts to our customers directly and through the partners. I have many friends in restaurant business. Me propose them our desserts, do developmental work, cook, test. That’s how we cooperate. There’s certain percent of those, who call us themselves and asks for desserts, but usually they are our friends.

Of course there were partnership refusals from our side, plenty of them. The main reason is discrepancy between restaurant stylistics and France, misunderstanding between management and our targets, attempts to impose own visions. For example, eastern restaurant and modern French dessert for me do not match together. You can change positioning, add spices, but still it will be wrong. You can’t work with everybody in identical manner – it’s impossible. I am not afraid that our criteria will leave us without partners.

Moreover, the facility has to have certain level. We use quality ingredients, which are quite expensive, and naturally, the positioning has to be “upper middle segment”. We will not decline the quality and minimize the plates.

Валерий Созановский - THE PEOPLE

Clients

Our target auditory is girls. The burst of output is during the holidays – New Year, Valentine’s Day, eighth of March – is a standard. Restaurants are aour permanent clients. Our biggest order is 1000 cakes for New Year corporative party. Once, a magic had happened, when our client ordered personal black macaroons with champagne and asked not to tell anybody who is he and never sell such macaroons. Another interesting story: at the time of startup, we had a client who ordered 2 boxes, then 10 boxes. He calls later and asks: “How much do you have?” my reply: “22 boxes.” He: “I take all of them.” After that, we nicknamed him “22 boxes”.

Social networks

Instagram and Facebook are main engines of commerce. In fact, we work in them. It’s like a news portal we you can find information about our actions and special offers. We do not simply place advertisements, we explain what we do: what the advantages of this cake, why these macaroons, how to produce the caramel. There’s a certain story of each post. It’s not an artificial, robot SMM every day, this is how we live – our story.

Instagram is more effective. My assistant carries it on, my Instagram I carry on personally.

Валерий Созановский - THE PEOPLE

Package

We develop the package together with designer for a long time. It took us month or two. The main requirements were style, beauty, desire to buy it after seeing the box itself. Date on the package – the year I was born – is a small riddle, rebus. Colour scale is my personal choice. Orange is my favourite colour; it also stimulates the appetite.

Plans

We are planning to open two new workshops shortly. We think of inviting French chef to develop the menu and establish the process.

Nowadays, we cooperate with restaurants but want to open our own cake-bars. It will be Kyiv confectionary network. We still develop it and keep it in secret. Later, we plan to open confectionary plant. We think to start from Ukraine. Further, if everything is ok – in EU. It’s hard to talk about the capacity right now. We try not to talk much about our plans.

In addition, we want to publish a book, but it’s a secret as well.

Валерий Созановский - THE PEOPLE

Businessman and chef

I work 12 hours every day. Earlier, I spent all my time in kitchen, in process. Now I mix my schedule – office, meetings, and kitchen. Now I can delegate responsibility and allow my cooks to work independently. However, I still cook because I like it. I cannot say it’s my calling, but it gets my high.

Business and network development gets me high as well. I am interested in that mix. This is how team works. You grow up together with them in kitchen; you build up as businessman – you get the endurance. I want to develop in all spheres. I am the perfectionist. May be it’s a problem but from another point of view we always move forward.

Валерий Созановский – создатель проекта Sweet Factory

Французские макароны

Фотограф:Анатолий Лисовой
Юрист по образованию – Валерий Созановский – создатель проекта Sweet Factory – первой кондитерской в Украине, строящейся как именной бренд. За пять месяцев десерты этой компании стали самыми популярными в столичной ресторанной среде.

В рестораны я ходил с детства, но интерес к этому бизнесу появился на четвертом курсе. Тусовки, бары, рестораны, поездки в Европу с посещением разных заведений–это было частью жизни. Понял, что мне начинает нравиться, развился определенный вкус. Так почему бы это не применить? В 2008 году запустили кейтеринг-сервис «Deluxe Delicious». Мне было интересно все: от выбора вилок до составления и проработки меню. В 2011 появился Quick Li –китайская кухня с доставкой. Увлечение кондитеркой – недавнее.

Учеба во Франции

На обучение в Высшую национальную кондитерскую школу Франции (ENSP) я поехал с идеей привезти в Киев настоящие макароны – запустить проект аналогов которого у нас нет. В Украине эта ниша не заполнена. В современной стилистике десертов – точно свободна. Сейчас у нас все так же, как и двадцать лет назад, грубо говоря, – «классика». Современного стиля очень мало, потому как далеко не все это понимают, но мы стараемся учить. Выбирая макароны отталкивался, конечно же, и от собственного вкуса.

Учеба длилась три месяца. Занятия проходили с шести утра до часу дня, либо с часу до восьми вечера. Новая неделя – новая тема: шоколад, хлеб, мороженное, кейки — много всего. Плюс практика – месяц работы в заведении, как Ladur?e или Pierre Herm?.

Школу ENSP выбрал по совету друзей. Были планы поехать в Ferrandi, но это пол года минимум. Слишком большой отрезок времени, на который нельзя бросить бизнес и все остальное. Для учебы высшего уровня, где все еще глубже, круче, где больше мастерства, нужен французский язык. У меня он пока ресторанный, и это единственная проблема. Но я обязательно поеду еще учиться, как минимум – для титула, как максимум – для удовольствия и новых разработок. 15 октября собираюсь к Пьеру Эрме на двухдневный курс. Это метр, к которому мы стремимся — наш гуру. Мы работаем по его рецептуре.

Валерий Созановский - THE PEOPLE

Команда

Команду подбирал долго и нудно. Из 100-150 человек, которые приходили, в цель попадал только один. Главный критерий — современный подход к жизни. Молодые люди, которые готовы учиться, развиваться в команде, строить бизнес. Желание учиться очень важно. Всем пришлось в какой-то мере, переступить через себя, сказать: «Да, я хочу научиться новому», а не: «Нет, буду делать то, что делал, и мне плевать». Потому как знания, которые были, никуда не годятся. Нужно было переучивать. У нас все: от технологий до ингредиентов — другое. Мы брали и без опыта, и с опытом, но у всех есть специальное образование.

Не подошли, те кто хотел прийти на пару дней и узнать секреты или просто попасть на территорию FILM.UA, где мы находимся. Приходили чуть ли не зэки в татуировках с фразами: «Та я там все решаю. Поставим в очередь». Очень много было клоунов, которые заявляли: «Ребятки, да что вы тут делаете. Заплатите мне 20 000, я вам все настрою». На что я сразу отвечал: «Чувак, повторяешь три рецепта – я готов платить». Никто не повторил даже один и не повторит. Приезжали и а-ля модные – десять лет работы шефами, кондитерское искусство, типа «я вас научу», но все это смешно.

Мы не берем после 35 лет, чтобы не было совдеповской закалки, так как строим европейскую компанию. На становление базы, людей с которыми начали работать, ушло месяца два-три. Сейчас на кухне 7 человек. Помимо этого – двое в офисе и два доставщика.

Отношения в команде дружеские – максимально лояльные. Средний возраст кондитеров – 25-27 лет. В основном это ребята, потому что они более выносливы. Есть девочки, но работать по 10-12 часов семь дней подряд им тяжелее.

Партнеры

На сегодняшний день мы продаем десерты напрямую заказчикам, и через партнеров. У меня очень много друзей в ресторанном бизнесе. Мы предлагаем им наши десерты, приезжаем на проработку, готовим, пробуем. Так и сотрудничаем. Есть определенный процент тех, кто сам нам звонит и просит десерты, но в основном – это наши друзья.

Отказы в партнерстве с нашей стороны, конечно, были и много. Главная причина – несовпадение стилистики заведения с Францией, непонимание руководством наших целей, когда пытаются навязать свое видение. Например, восточный ресторан и французский современный десерт у меня, честно, не клеятся. Можно сделать какое-то позиционирование, добавить специи, но все равно, это немного неправильно. Нельзя одинаково со всеми работать — это невозможно. Того, что из-за наших критериев будет мало партнеров я не боюсь.

Плюс у заведения должен быть определенный уровень. Мы используем качественные ингредиенты, которые стоят денег и естественно – это должно позиционироваться «выше среднего сегмента». На ухудшение качества и уменьшение порций мы не пойдем.

Валерий Созановский - THE PEOPLE

Клиенты

Наша целевая аудитория – девушки. Взрывы объемов производства приходятся на праздники – Новый год, 14 февраля, 8 марта – это стандарт. Рестораны – это постоянные клиенты. Пока самый большой заказ – 1000 кейков на корпоратив перед Новым годом. Был один волшебный случай, когда человек попросил сделать ему макароны с шампанским, специально для него черного цвета, и никому никогда не рассказывать кто он, и не продавать такие макароны. Еще одна интересная история: когда мы только запускались, у нас появился клиент, который взял на пробу сначала 2 коробки, потом еще 5, потом 10, позже звонит и спрашивает: «Так, а сколько у вас вообще есть в наличии?». Мы говорим: «22 коробки». Он: «Забираю все!». И после этого мы так его и прозвали – «22 коробки».

Социальные сети

Instagram и Facebook– основные двигатели торговли. По сути мы в них работаем. Это как новостной портал, где можно узнавать о наших акциях и спец-предложениях. Мы не просто размещаем рекламу, а рассказываем, что делаем: какие преимущества этого кейка, почему такие макароны, как делается карамель. Есть определенная история к каждому посту. Это не искусственное роботизированное SMM каждый день, а то, чем мы живем – это наша история.

Более эффективный –Instagram. Его ведет помощница, свой – я сам.

Валерий Созановский - THE PEOPLE

Упаковка

Упаковку мы разрабатывали совместно с дизайнером достаточно долго. На это ушло около месяца или двух. Главными требованиями были стиль, красота, что бы сама коробочка вызывала желание приобрести. Дата на упаковке – мой год рождения – это небольшая загадка, ребус. Цветовая гамма – личный выбор. Оранжевый – мой любимый цвет, еще он стимулирует аппетит.

Планы

В ближайшее время планируем открыть два новых цеха. Для этих направлений думаем позвать шефа из Франции, что бы разработать меню и наладить процесс.

Сейчас мы сотрудничаем с ресторанами, но хотим делать свои кейк-бары. Это будет кондитерская сеть по Киеву. Пока что все в разработке и секретности. Позже планируем открыть кондитерскую фабрику. Пока – старт с Украины. Дальше, если все будет идти хорошо, – Евросоюз. Про объемы сложно сейчас сказать. Мы стараемся особо не распространятся о наших планах.

Еще хотим выпустить книгу, но это пока тоже секрет.

Валерий Созановский - THE PEOPLE

Бизнесмен и повар

На работу у меня уходит по 12 часов каждый день. Раньше я постоянно был на кухне, в процессе. Сейчас миксую – офис, встречи, кухня. Теперь я могу делегировать полномочия и даю поварам возможность самостоятельно работать. Но готовить все равно продолжаю, потому что мне нравится. Не то что бы это призвание, но я получаю кайф.

От ведения бизнеса и развития сети я тоже получаю громадное удовлетворение. Интересен микс. В этом прикол команды. Ты растешь с ними на кухне и формируешься как бизнесмен – это закалка. Мне хочется развиваться во всех направлениях. Я перфекционист Может быть, это проблема, но с другой стороны – мы постоянно идем вперед.

Количетво просмотров: 5046